Resolution in Opposition to the Transport of Hazardous Fossil Fuels By Rail through Alameda County

Adopted by the Alameda County Democratic Central Committee Wednesday, April 2, 2014

WHEREAS existing rail terminals are securing permits to import Canadian Tar Sands and Bakken crude oils without any public notice or CEQA review, and the volume of crude by rail shipments in Northern California increased by 57 percent during 2013 and this growth will continue to skyrocket if the proposed rail terminals are permitted and constructed: and

WHEREAS trains delivering crude oil traveling through the Bay Area will follow routes adjacent to the San Francisco Bay Estuary and its tributaries, posing a serious threat to this ecosystem which is considered a biodiversity hotspot, sustaining significant aquatic and estuarine species and habitat, and is a treasured icon for millions of Bay Area residents; and

WHEREAS a crude-by-rail project, the Phillips 66 Santa Maria Refinery rail spur extension, is currently before San Luis Obispo County for approval, and trains delivering crude for this project would use Union Pacific rail tracks, which follow the Amtrak Capitol Corridor route through the East Bay and Berkeley; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Alameda County Democratic Party opposes using existing Union Pacific or other rail lines to transport hazardous fossil fuels, including crude oil, along California waterways, through densely populated areas, and through Alameda County

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Alameda County Democratic Party respectfully requests that city councils, mayors, county supervisors, state legislators, and members of Congress within or representing Alameda County urge the federal agencies responsible for railroad safety to protect communities and the environment by requiring that railroads, refiners, and tanker owners promptly institute the most rigorous safety protocols.

Paid for by the Alameda County Democratic Central Committee, P.O. Box 3937 Hayward, CA 94540-3937. 
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.